Tuesday, June 27, 2017

1949-50 NBA

On August 3, 1949, the owners and management of the BAA and NBL met to discuss plans of a merger. After a three-year competition, the two most prominent leagues in the Midwest and East had battled over fans and players. The BAA had the more stable organization, and took on NBL teams and the others either disbanded, played independently or joined lesser leagues.

The BAA is recognized by the NBA as being the beginning of the league, and BAA stats are counted in official NBA historical statistics. The NBL stats are not, and players who played in only the NBL are not recognized by the NBA Players Association as being NBA alumni.

Initially, the NBA was to have four divisions and 18 teams. However, the Milwaukee team (allegedly was to be the Oshkosh All-Stars after relocating - source needed) withdrew, so the league went with 17 teams and three divisions. (Listed below, with the 1948-49 league affiliation in parentheses)

Central Division:
Rochester Royals (BAA)
Minneapolis Lakers (BAA)
Chicago Stags (BAA)
Fort Wayne Pistons (BAA)
St. Louis Bombers (BAA)

Eastern Division:
Syracuse Nationals (NBL)
New York Knicks (BAA)
Washington Capitols (BAA)
Philadelphia Warriors (BAA)
Baltimore Bullets (BAA)
Boston Celtics (BAA)

Western Division:
Indianapolis Olympians (new team, replacing BAA's Indianapolis Jets)
Anderson Packers (NBL)
Tri-Cities Blackhawks (NBL)
Sheboygan Redskins (NBL)
Waterloo Hawks (NBL)
Denver Nuggets (NBL)

No comments:

Post a Comment