Monday, September 18, 2017

1951-52 NBA

The NBA was now functioning as a ten-team league, having lost the Washington Capitols in January of 1951 when the team folded. (A new team from Washington also named the Capitols would make one last go at it in the now-much-diluted American Basketball League, which was only a year away from dissolving for good.) The Tri-Cities Blackhawks, suffering from financial problems largely due to their market, moved to Milwaukee and became the Hawks.

The Minneapolis Lakers finished a game behind Rochester in the Western Division, but wound up winning the NBA Championship in seven games over the Knicks.

Eastern Division:
Baltimore Bullets
Boston Celtics
New York Knicks
Philadelphia Warriors
Syracuse Nationals

Western Division:
Fort Wayne Pistons
Indianapolis Olympians
Milwaukee Hawks
Minneapolis Lakers
Rochester Royals

No comments:

Post a Comment